Average Review

4.7/5

Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
Lisa Fowler 11 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Loved it!

Any other notes?

It is so much smaller than the usual London races. I loved it. So friendly and it is gorgeous running along the river!

John Willoughby 09 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Excellent First Marathon Event

Any other notes?

Thanks for a great day - My first marathon race event :) Only two points of feedback:
1 - The start was a little earlier than 10am and I was lucky enough to have my Garmin ready with GPS just in time, but a bit more of a countdown to the start (if not bang on 10am) would have been good.
2 - A few parts of the course were flooded - Being local, I knew this could have been the case, but I don't think all runners knew to expect this and the need to run through - I caught up with a few runners who had stopped wondering if they had gone the wrong way!
Apart from these two small points - The event was excellent and I would definitely recommend - Especially for first time marathon runners given the simplicity of the route and it being a very flat route. Thanks again, John Willoughby

Rastislav Jonis 09 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

good with a few remarks

Any other notes?

what i really lacked was a snack/drinks stand at the marathon halfway turning point...it would have been a little reward for all the runners that they made it that far. also, it would have been nice if there were milestones along the way. otherwise very good.

Keith OLoughlin 09 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Well organised, lovely course and very friendly

Any other notes?
Susan Biancofiore 08 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Wonderful support from the army cadet marshalls

Any other notes?
Owen Lindsell 08 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Maybe
How did you rate the scenery?3/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?3/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

Course seemed slightly long. Official time was 40 seconds faster than my watch

Any other notes?
IAN GRANGE 08 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?3/5
How did you rate the organisation?3/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?No
In summary

IT WAS AN INTERESTING RACE THAT WENT QUITE WELL . IT WAS GENERALLY WELL ORGANISED

Any other notes?

THE ONLY THING THAT MIGHT HAVE BEEN MANAGED BETTER IS WARNING PEOPLE THAT THE TIDE WAS RISING IN THE BARNES AS SOME OF US WERE FORCED TO TAKE SOCKS AND SHOES OFF TO GET THROUGH SHALLOW WATER IN THE THAMES. THERE MIGHT SOMEBODY RE-DIRECTING US JUST BEYOND BARNES BRIDGE ON THE WAY BACK

Paul Marriott 08 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Really interesting to see different parts of London

Any other notes?

There were a couple of spectacularly grumpy people on the path [1 x cycle 1 x pedestrian] at the start of the half marathon. Rather as if they had set their alarms for the race start to make sure they were there at the right time to complain.

Nicola Dixon 08 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

A perfect marathon route, fast, friendly, beautiful and not too many people.

Any other notes?

Could have done with an extra water station around the half way point - marathon distance. This would be my only point, however I did see some runners stop at the pub in Richmond to replenish. Great race guys!

Victoria Marles 08 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Maybe
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Enjoyable event. Support and organisation was excellent

Any other notes?
Kim Slater 08 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Maybe
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Nice smaller event in a very pleasant location.

Any other notes?

Couple of things :
1. At start one runner banged into an older lady in Cranbury Gardens on first loop. It was an unfortunate accident but runners need to be careful.
2. The turnaround on marathon wasn’t that well signed or administered so we were a little uncertain - but no drama
3. The tide was fun especially at Mortlake. A number of us ploughed through but I expect others may not it wanted too - but you can’t halt nature.

Overall your events are really good. Done a couple of half’s and one marathon to qualify for Comrades. So much nicer than doing the large events - so thanks.

Kim Slater

Andrew Page 08 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Well organised, nice event

Any other notes?

Yesterday was my 3rd time on the Thames Meander, and I really enjoy it. Great course, close to home for me, well organised and super-easy (no long travel, no baggage trucks to worry about, just pitch up and off you go). The pre race welcome e.g. for the runner doing his 100th marathon was great, gave it all a nice friendly atmosphere. Good support along the way too.

On the course map - could you get your artist friend to add in some mile markers? Not so much for the runners, but for spectators it’s easier to work out timings where they can intercept you,

Water stations - the volunteers were brilliant. Suggest we need more water per cup though (only got 1/3 of a small cup most of the time yesterday, which just isn’t enough). Cups are a nightmare to drink from at the best of times, so more would help.

The high tide - wading through up to my shorts was a first for me on this course! The floodwater running down the Thames won’t have helped, but with high rainfall becoming more common by the looks of it, would definitely be worth avoiding race times that straddle High Water. The way out was fine, but it was v deep at Mortlake on the way back (thigh deep), and again at Richmond (shin deep). However, we survived!

Overall, well done, great event. See you next time!

gareth davies 08 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

Lovely run along the Thames and always a great crowd

Any other notes?
Donovan Jones 08 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Maybe
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Fantastic, fun and very well organised event!

Any other notes?

A wonderful scenic route along the Thames, with friendly volunteers there to cheer you on and provide any aid you may need, this is a great event to kickstart your spring racing schedule. Well done to all involved and thank you!

Catherine Archer 08 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Well organised, friendly and easy to get to using public transport

Any other notes?

Take a spare dry pair of shoes in case the river creeps over the path lol

Would be great to have a few more portaloos at the start and maybe a couple at halfway turn around

Sanjeev Mittal 07 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Crowd size makes it light-weight, doesn't take 45 mins to start / be

Any other notes?
James Sleigh 07 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Great course, good organisation, but room for improvement.

Any other notes?

Yes. You need some sort of mile markers, even just a halfway sign. Given you pass the finish with about 2 miles left (even though you said in the briefing), a sign with the distance to go would also be helpful. Also, the water station at the end was very poorly organised. Finishers were congregating to collect water and goodies on the course and blocking runners. You should provide water and goodies at the end sufficienlty far from the course so that it doesnt affect runners.

Paul Ovenden 07 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?3/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

Nice race with one or two minor issues

Any other notes?

Thank you a nice event again. Some minor points for you guys and to be clear they have not upset me. Last drinks point had closed before we got there. One part was difficult to pass and we had to make a detour and the final Marshall was trying to send us back to the finish before the real turnaround points. There was a discussion but I said I’ve done this 3 times it’s further along and we continued.

Andrew Kartashov 07 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Great small event

Any other notes?
Nicole Mendel 07 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Fun day

Any other notes?

Excellent organisation! Beautiful medal and bib! Loved the event and especially the young cadets who supported the stations. Well done! Thanks for this great day!

Graeme Harris 07 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Good early season marathon

Any other notes?

Only confusing part was the turn around point, not very clear and people who don’t look associated to the event telling everyone to turn around

Daniel Whittaker 07 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Very well organised, good facilities, flat course, great training marathon I have come back to many times.

Any other notes?
Lorna O’Donnell 07 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Extremely well organised on the day with good communication pre race.

Any other notes?

Loved this run along the Thames tow path. Course was well marked, Plenty of well stocked aid stations and cheerful, encouraging marshals. The path was a bit crowded at the finish area for runners trying to get through for the final section so maybe a marshal here to remind spectators to keep that area clear might be useful in future. Otherwise excellent 10/10!!

tanya usher 07 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Really enjoyed it. Done it four times now and it doesn't disappoint. Even with the three swims??

Any other notes?

Is it a bit long?? I think my GPS is bang on and I always come out at 26.5 ish. I think people go really wide round the turn arounds. Can this be taken into account.

Thanks for another great race

Charlie Powell 07 Mar 2020
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Excellently organised event along a beautiful river!

Any other notes?
Neil CURTIS 10 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Flat, fast and scenic.

Any other notes?

Very good event, good info in the website, big enough to feel busy but small enough to not be crammed onto the narrow course. Good food stations. Only things I'd improve are course signage (a bit small), distance markers would probably help those without GPS watches and the main thing I'd improve is the first turning point. I'd make that turning point a bollard that has to be run around as some people turn before the table. And it's a bit too busy with the table there too. The army dude does a good job of shouting instructions though and the volunteers on the food stations are really good too. Hope that's helpful. These are minor suggestions, cos it's a great event already!

Louise Newman 05 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Really enjoyed it.

Any other notes?

Really did not enjoy passing the finishing line to do last loop back on yourself - would be much nicer to just run out further especially as it is such a great run along the thames path.
Would prefer mile markers.

Candice Moore 05 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?3/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Beautiful route. Nice relaxed and friendly atmosphere with not many runners or too much fuss. It would be good if there were at least one or two toilet stops along the route.

Any other notes?
Alice Clilverd 05 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Very friendly, enjoyable event.

Any other notes?

I had read in the information beforehand that headphones of any kind weren't permitted (so I didn't bring mine), however there were a lot of people wearing headphones during the race (including the lead female runners). I can see from the results that a few people were disqualified (presumably for wearing headphones), however it was a bit frustrating to see so many others clearly wearing them (and getting away with it!).

The only other comment relates to the drinks/feed station by the start/finish. When I had finished the half, a lot of other people who had also finished were around the table trying to get food/drinks, however this often meant they were blocking the people still running from either getting food/drinks, or being able to run through with a clear path. It may therefore be an idea to have a separate table for people once they have finished so they don't get in the way of those who are still running.

Overall though, I really enjoyed myself and will definitely be back!

Sai Gopal 04 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

A pleasant off road marathon, well organised. I enjoyed the whole experience.

Any other notes?
Phil Kerbey 04 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?3/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Excellent Race along the river

Any other notes?
Chris Rough 04 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

great, new pb

Any other notes?

Mile markers would have been useful.

Andy Ettenfield 04 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?2/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Lovely scenery - shame about the weather.

Any other notes?

Due to the weather conditions some of the track was a little difficult to maneuver with mud, puddles and pedestrians to get around in the middle section. Overall it was a nice route, even only being an out and back track.

Darren O'Reilly 04 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Maybe
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?3/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

Scenic but lacked support

Any other notes?

Why the course passes the finish line where you have to run past and turn around. The weather didnt help but thought the course lacked support and at times held up at the start because the course was too narrow for the number of runners, funnel the start to make it better

Sarah Moore 04 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

The real London marathon

Any other notes?

I stayed to cheer my friends across the line and was disappointed that the DJ stopped before they had all finished. If the music was still playing that would encourage more people to stay at the finish line too.

In previous years I have been able to shower after the race, I was disappointed the changing rooms we were shown to this time had no showers.

Tim Young 03 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Friendly trail/ path run along the Thames path

Any other notes?

The path is narrow in places so you do need to look out for other path users

Andrew Corti 03 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Very enjoyable - nice flat run and nt as crowded as I expected

Any other notes?

Would be nice to have something to run round at the turns!

Josh Ord-Hume 03 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

One struggles to find fault in anything that David his crew put on...

Any other notes?

David is extremely good at making runners (from all over the world) feel welcome… and his helpers and marshals are among the friendliest on the running scene.

Jane Adams 03 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

A good choice for a first half marathon - nice and flat!

Any other notes?

The only thing I didn't like was the last 3k or so - going back the other way having just passed the finish line! It would be much better to have the first turnaround a bit further along - at 10k or so, then a much shorter turnaround at the end. All in all really enjoyed it - marshals were lovely, great refreshments at good intervals. Glad I chose it for my first half.

Pete Brennan 03 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Friendly race on a nice flat course.

Any other notes?

It would be good if the final loop towards Kingston could be replaced with a loop of the parks at the Putney end.

Juliet Morrice 03 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Lovely route, great support.

Any other notes?

For a flat out-and-back this was actually more challenging then I expected due to the varied terrain. And the weather, but that just added to the experience. Thanks for a great day, I’m planning to come again next year.

Gary Armstrong 03 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Friendly, a great challenge and well organised.

Any other notes?
HARIKRISHNAN NATRAJ 03 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Maybe
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?3/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Nice scenic route and good trail

Any other notes?

Route: was scenic with natural beauty
Accuracy of course: My GPS showed the FM was 43.2 kms, i have also checked the earlier reviews which mentioned the same. I think you should correct this.
Hospitality and water stations: Water stations at every 5 kms was good with good amount electrolytes, gels, bars, etc.
Finish line: You should provide some snacks at the finish line in a bag.
Baggage counter: Well managed
Registration counter: well managed
Route markings: There were some diversions where there were no markings. You could have kept volunteers at that place of kept the markings.
Medical: At the finish line i was not able to find reli sprays, which is a must at the finish line.
Overall a good experience.

Erika Bewers 03 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Beautiful flat run with great friendly atmosphere

Any other notes?

The only things I would say could be improve were the turning points were a bit anticlimactic without a loop, and the last 3k you had to run past the finish line with everyone celebrating and collecting their medals and run really far down to come back again - should have just ran further up the other way to Kew and come back straight to the finish rather than past the finish line - again a bit anticlimactic and torturous at that point in the run! But the army guys on the drinks stalls were amazing and really friendly!

Christine Johnson 03 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

It was great but I didn't like the terrain much but that's down to me

Any other notes?

It says on your notes that there is space for 120 cars in the car park. However, we were asked to move as there were no spaces for runners. Fortunately my husband was dropping me off but had I been driving that would have added to the stress.

Lee Buccellato 02 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Love it!

Any other notes?

Thank you

Steve Bowerman 02 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Do it!

Any other notes?

I’ve done this route 3x times, twice as mara and once as half. Always a great mix of super friendly runners and camaraderie. Strongly recommend if it’s your marathon duck or your 500th.

James Salmon 02 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Maybe
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Great route flat for beginners

Any other notes?

Aid stations were well run and supported

nick bracey 02 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Great run along the Thames - always enjoyable!

Any other notes?

Excellent feed stations, helpful and enthusiastic volunteers. Good facilities for spectators at the Y. A great day out!

Harry Claxton 02 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?2/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Well organised low key marathon, on a scenic but rough towpath.

Any other notes?

Liked the cups with electrolytes - seemed to go down better than water.
The towpath is now better around Ham, but still a bit rough in other places. Also a bit narrow, but the smaller field meant this wasn't a big issue.

Joanna Johnson 02 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Great first experience, despite the weather!

Any other notes?

First Thames Meander and happy overall with the organisation and atmosphere. Only downside was that there were no distance markers, even one half way would have been extremely helpful. Drinks/snacks at the finish would have been better placed on the opposite side of the track. Crossing in front of runners who still had 5k to go was a shame.
Excellent work from the people who organised the registration and sorted all the bags!!

Holly Shinkwin 02 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?3/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

I enjoyed it

Any other notes?

Runners at the back could not hear the briefing

Many runners wore headphones and I was under the impression these were not allowed, otherwise I would have had mine

I did enjoy it though and it was lovely to be back in my hometown

Dóri Dunai 02 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?3/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

It’s great event but the half marathon should only start an hour after marathon start. The path is too narrow for so many runners and the half marathoners are very inconsiderate while running. Keeping no rules!!

Any other notes?
Steve Barrington 02 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?3/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

Easy flat course for PBs and Beginners

Any other notes?

Why no parking at the venue and no mile markers?

Mandy Flynn 02 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?3/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

Lovely flat route

Any other notes?
Lydia Green 02 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Enjoyable, scenic race

Any other notes?
Claire Williams 02 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Will cone back again to repeat- thanks

Any other notes?

Why were cups being reused? That is not good. I drank then I put my cup down and the young person just picked it up and refilled and put it in a tray. Shocking. Next time I will run with my own cup. I am shocked they think this is acceptable. Not a good health and safety thing. Other than that thanks for a great event. Cant complain about anything. Cheers!

Hilary insall 02 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Nice

Any other notes?
Richard Boxall 02 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?3/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

A little jog by the river with a twist at the end

Any other notes?

Some mile points would be nice

Paul Dean 02 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Great event. Great host. Coming back next year

Any other notes?
Ester Avagliano 02 Nov 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?2/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

Nice route but poor signalling

Any other notes?

I’d have loved a bit more atmosphere, music and clearer route indications
Overall good

Alyson Northedge 12 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Maybe
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Good flat half marathon

Any other notes?

Enjoyable and well organised event. Only minor quibbles - the excessively long pre-race briefing that nobody could hear down-wind (it was windy), and a lack of promised jelly babies on the aid stations. I also thought the turnaround point was going to be nearer Kew Bridge and not need to pass the finish line with 1.6 miles to go, requiring a further out and back loop to complete.
The venue (YMCA Hawker) was really convenient for the race start, parking on street was achievable just meters from the perimeter, and there's a good selection of shops/cafes and coffee shops just a short walk from there in Ham.
I liked the 'eco' friendly wooden medal, but perhaps the sentiment was lost with the use of plastic cups on the water stations. People were generally courteous however and used the bins provided to collect them!

Would I do it again? Yes.

Peter Beard 12 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Perfect first half

Any other notes?

The loud speakers at the start were not loud enough - you needed more further back. Perhaps facilitating an optional warm
Up before too would have been good.
Really liked the slightly different medal.
Perhaps some distance markers would have been good as well.

david yu 12 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Flat and beginner friendly marathon

Any other notes?

The turnaround for full marathon at canbury gardens was not marshalled and did not have a sign so no one knew where to run until or when to turn around to head back to YMCA. The new medal does not have a date or year, it will better to see a specific date on medal or least the ribbon.

Nicholas Christopherson 12 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?3/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

relaxed stroll with great scenery

Any other notes?

disappointed that there wern’t any markers for distance. People at the back couldn’t here the organizer at start of race when he was giving information out. was not well planned with people in the path while runners were running past the 11 mile mark (finish line). The medals where wood and not metal like the year before which was disappointing. apart from that really enjoyed it and will do next year for sure.

Chris Harrison 12 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

Potentially fast, smallish friendly race, generally experienced field.

Any other notes?
Harriet Stovin 12 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Maybe
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?3/5
How did you rate the organisation?3/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

Quite a lonely run so probably not one for beginners.

Any other notes?

I don’t think enough water stations were provided on the route, and it was hard to know how far you had done or had remaining because there were no markers for distance covered. It’s also incredibly demoralising to pass the finish line and have to do another 2km to complete the full race.

Rene Berende 11 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Great Marathon, well organised

Any other notes?

One issue was that the drink points did run-out of food. Although bananas were mentioned at the start none were there.

Rachel Clarke 11 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

excellent friendly race

Any other notes?

there was no cake this time :-(

Fiona Bolton 11 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

Really enjoyable event thank you!

Any other notes?

Pre-event information was excellent, including a last-minute update on the weather conditions, advice on footwear etc., and the check-in and bag drop were really easy. Great facilities at the YMCA (café, water fountain, plenty of places to sit and wait). As always at this sort of thing, a few more portaloos might have been helpful. The only real problem was the first turn around: one small cadet mumbling "blues turn around now" wasn't particularly clear amongst the general scramble at the drinks table. Many thanks to the YMCA staff and (eventually) the event paramedic who patched me up at the end, as well as to the race director for coming over personally to check that I was ok. I would definitely consider entering again.

Paul Weeks 11 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Nice pleasant event

Any other notes?
Joanne Johnson 11 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Very friendly event

Any other notes?

On the positive side, this is a great very friendly event - the young marshals were all brilliant! It was nice to have squash at the water stations as well as water and tailwind. The route was very nice (windy at times but that's beyond your control!) andI absolutely love the wooden medal!
The one negative for me was the lack of toilets and this caused me significant issues on the return leg. I had made myself a map of toilets on the route from looking on https://www.toiletmap.org.uk/ but the problem is that many "public" toilets theses days are board up - e.g. the one at the top of Petersham Meadow was boarded up. There were toilets at The Ship but unfortunatley my upset stomach really kicked in at 17 miles, just after I had passed it on the way back. This made for a fairly challenging and miserable last part of the marathon, sadly. Although you had mentioned "Richmond/Kew Bridge/Barnes pubs" as a possible toilet stops, it might be an idea to agree with some particularl pub owners in advance that the runners could use their toilets en route and let the runners know where these are, so we could be confident about accessing their premises to use their facilities.

Nevine Al Manni 11 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Very scenic route, I loved it!

Any other notes?

One observation is that for slower runners that finish later between 5/5:45 hours, the finish line is much quieter so would help if the music and support continues until the cut off time

Ellen Moloney 11 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

Beautiful london run with a bad ending

Any other notes?

Having to pass the finish line to complete a final loop was a bit soul destroying at the end. It wasnt that clear that you had to run passed with people stopping at the 'finish line' drink station thinking it was the end. Wrong. Completing that loop at the start would be so much better.

Stephen Moore 11 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Great event for my first marathon

Any other notes?
Atul Tuli 11 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Scenic and shaded half marathon !!

Any other notes?
Bruce Blackshaw 10 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Excellent, well organised race.

Any other notes?

Flat!

jason golder 10 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Very scenic and enjoyable

Any other notes?
thomas cheetham 10 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Maybe
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

david ross always presents a well organised marathon

Any other notes?

no complaints I would have no hesitation in entering it again.
I have run it a few times now.

Ben Argyle 10 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Low key, friendly, could do better on facilities

Any other notes?

We were lucky to arrive early, but later arrivals had a huge queue for race numbers. Start was a bit congested (narrow start funnel). Changing/shower facilities were limited (and non-existent for women that we could find). However, the event was well organised, communication was good, if a little close to race day, and there was a real feeling that this was someone's 'baby'. Would do it again; positive experience.

Lauren Tones 10 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

Wonderful route down the Thames

Any other notes?

This is a great event. Despite dodging pedestrians, dogs and cyclists on the Thames Path, its a beautiful route with wonderful scenery. The route makes you run back the way you’ve came, which sounds bad, but is fine and doesn’t feel boring at all. It was only at the half way point where you turn straight back things got a little confusing. Then running past the finish line towards the end is both joyous and a killer! But I loved it. Simple race done well. Would definitely consider returning for more events by the same organiser.

Paul Forsyth 10 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

My favourite and most friendly race's on my running calander

Any other notes?
martin stent204141 10 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Great half marathon run along the Thames towpath

Any other notes?

Unless you are at the front at the start, the towpath is congested to begin with - we stopped a walked a couple of times which affected my split for the first 2km's. Other than that, good run. thanks

Gerhard Nel 10 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Fantastic race. Flat. Great PB

Any other notes?
Robert Moore 10 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Amazing 1st marathon

Any other notes?
Martin Carby 10 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Lovely run

Any other notes?

I couldn’t at all hear the face briefing. It didn’t matter as the race instructions in the emails said it all

Steph Cogbill 10 Aug 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?3/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Good

Any other notes?
Anonymous 29 Mar 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

recasens

Any other notes?
Anonymous 12 Mar 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Flat, pretty trail run.

Any other notes?

Aid stations well looked after by local army cadets. Last two mile double back a bit cruel. Good day out.

BARBARA MIREK 09 Mar 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Great race

Any other notes?

Very well organized

Anonymous 09 Mar 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?3/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?3/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Relatively low key but well-organised. Friendly marshalls at all aid stations

Any other notes?

I know most people run with GPS watches these days, but maybe consider putting up one or two distance markers (10k/30k), for me they always make for a welcome progress marker to keep you going.

Anonymous 09 Mar 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Full

Any other notes?
Niall Baker 09 Mar 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Fun

Any other notes?
Anonymous 09 Mar 2019
Would you recommend it to others?No
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?3/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

Sorely Lacking

Any other notes?

No mile markers - I realise there were two events but there are ways to differentiate between the two in signs. Not enough water stations. Toilet paper ran out in the portaloos. The FAQ mentions showers but not that they are communal. Therefore, given all that, it was not value for money and not a race that I would do again.

Anonymous 09 Mar 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Magic

Any other notes?

Loved it. My first marathon. Travelled from Cornwall ....well worth it. Thanks to all the organisers and helpers

Anonymous 09 Mar 2019
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Good event

Any other notes?

For the half marathon the turning point at Kingston 20km should be at the beginning of the race Not the end. It’s a bit downbeat running past the finish at the end.

Anonymous 06 Nov 2018
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?3/5
How did you rate the organisation?3/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

What a lovely and friendly Thames-side run!

Any other notes?

Thanks for all the excellent organization.

Michael Bennett 05 Nov 2018
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Excellent except... Where are the results??

Any other notes?

Brilliant event again David. One question... No full set of results on hermes or eventrac Web pages and can't see past results which us a bit of a confusing as 100 marathon need evidence for those of us hopefully heading towards that goal?

Andrew Berki 05 Nov 2018
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Great for beginners, flat and fast for the competitors and a real pleasure for all. Many thanks.

Any other notes?
Anonymous 05 Nov 2018
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Great event that I run most years

Any other notes?
Anonymous 05 Nov 2018
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

Excellent as usual

Any other notes?
Anonymous 05 Nov 2018
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?3/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Great location, well organised fast course

Any other notes?

Runners need to not run in clusters as people need to pass and it makes it awkward for the general public who also have every right to be out enjoying this beautiful Thameside path

Anonymous 05 Nov 2018
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Fast, flat and friendly

Any other notes?
Anonymous 04 Nov 2018
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?3/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

A fun day out

Any other notes?

Running back past the finish line was a tough ask (changed since the last time I ran the event) but I understand the reason for the change. Some water at the end (separate from aid station on the course) would have helped as I felt we were getting in the way. On the whole very friendly and well managed, thanks.

Brian Smith 04 Nov 2018
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Great event, thoroughly enjoyable

Any other notes?
Anonymous 14 Aug 2018
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

A good well run event with great aid station spreads!

Any other notes?

Only sour point was having to go look for own bag in tent as attendant was too busy on phone.

Anonymous 13 Aug 2018
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?3/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

A fun way to spend a Saturday.

Any other notes?

It would be nice if the final loop around the park could be removed. Can the turn around point be extended a little further or could we cross a bridge and run along the other side of the river for a while?

Anonymous 13 Aug 2018
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Excellent as always!

Any other notes?
Anonymous 12 Aug 2018
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?3/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

small but well organised, very nice flat route along the river good for beginners who don't need a lot of cheering on

Any other notes?
Peter Martin 12 Aug 2018
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Lovely run along the river

Any other notes?

Better PA system required at the start

Anonymous 12 Aug 2018
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Leafy run along the river

Any other notes?

Shared, narrow paths made for some negotiated access but was rarely a problem. Flat track, well supported

Anonymous 11 Aug 2018
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Great event! Well organised, easy to park, flat and scenic.

Any other notes?
Anonymous 11 Aug 2018
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Nice scenery

Any other notes?
Anonymous 07 Nov 2016
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

A superb thameside running experience - great atmosphere

Any other notes?

I like the Hawker Aircraft medal - great link to local history!
why not reward the category winners with a bottle of wine....

Anonymous 06 Nov 2016
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Just a good value well organised event along the river on paths much more attractive, especially in their Autumn glory colours and than you might imagined for a run in so close to the heart of the city, Really enjoyed it.

Any other notes?
Anonymous 06 Nov 2016
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Love this run apart from finish

Any other notes?

We ,as a running club enjoy a weekend away to the Thames! I love the scenery, and the flat route, but..... I lose the will to live over the finish. Please, please ,please can we either go over a bridge and back or somewhere else if we can't run down to Putney Bridge! If we could add that small mileage on somewhere else , at the far end , it would be great. Need to address this as this puts me off running this great marathon . Thank you.

Anonymous 06 Nov 2016
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Awesome as a first half or marathon!

Any other notes?

Instead of Kew Gardens car park as a turn point for the half it would be better to carry on up the river, and turn later to avoid the Canbury garden loop at the end!

Anonymous 06 Nov 2016
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Fantastic event

Any other notes?

Loved running the route

Anonymous 06 Nov 2016
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?3/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Good friendly event

Any other notes?
Anonymous 06 Nov 2016
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Great Fun!

Any other notes?

Lovely race, route, atmosphere, eating stations etc etc
Always enjoy running this race, thank you guys!

Anonymous 06 Nov 2016
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

A running event hosted by runners for runners

Any other notes?
Anonymous 06 Nov 2016
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?3/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

A well organised and flat half marathon - very enjoyable.

Any other notes?

Need more water to be available at the water stations.

Anonymous 06 Nov 2016
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Nice, low-key jaunt along the Thames.

Any other notes?

I've done the race four times now. It's not a fast race for me even though it's flat - it's usually either muddy (last November and this Spring) or hot (August). Yesterday had the best conditions I've experienced here but as it came right at the end of a very heavy racing schedule, I ran slower than my other Autumn halves because I was, frankly, tired. Still a course PB though.
I don't really mind the lack of mile markers as I have a Garmin. My dislikes are a) you have to get water yourself rather than getting it handed to you (yesterday I managed to grab an empty cup and had to go back for a full one, so wasted some time) and b) that awful bit at the end where you go past the finish and then have to run through that park for what seems an eternity. The regatta didn't really help as there was a lot of dodging involved, but that wasn't your fault. I also find it quite a lonely race in places as I ended up running alone for quite a while after mile 9. I find it easier to keep up a good pace when I have other runners to follow and overtake.
I liked that results were available from the computer after, and I also like being able to wait indoors and grab a coffee. Very civilised. The availability of changing rooms was also welcome.

Anonymous 06 Nov 2016
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Loved everything about this race

Any other notes?
Anonymous 06 Nov 2016
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Super run and friendly!

Any other notes?
Anonymous 05 Nov 2016
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?4/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Great flat race, beautiful scenery!

Any other notes?
Anonymous 05 Nov 2016
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?5/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

Friendly organisers and great for all abilities and goals

Any other notes?

Great run which would appeal to runners (i.e. people who run regularly and probably are part of a club) but maybe not people who don't run much and enter an event per year to raise money for charity like the Hackney Half which is full of people cheering and music blasting etc. Suitable for all levels and really friendly and helpful marshals. Lovely scenery. The last mile of the half was brutal just because it was so congested and there was traffic and loads of cyclists at one point. Will definitely recommend to running friends of all abilities. Really enjoyed the fact that the path was varied. Great range of fuel also.

Anonymous 05 Nov 2016
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Lovely running crowd who made the whole run a lot easier - well done Dave and Mel and supporters

Any other notes?

Nice touch at the end might be a free coffee or tea to warm us up perhaps ?

Anonymous 05 Nov 2016
Would you recommend it to others?Maybe
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?4/5
How did you rate the organisation?3/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Maybe
In summary

enjoyed the event and this is a good memory with my personal best

Any other notes?
Anonymous 05 Nov 2016
Would you recommend it to others?Yes
How did you rate the scenery?4/5
How did you rate the atmosphere?5/5
How did you rate the organisation?5/5
Do you think this was friendly to beginners?Yes
In summary

Great event and organization!

Any other notes?

Shame music is not allowed but I understand the rules are rules :-)

Event Details

Organiser Details

Organiser
Hermes Running
Website
Hermes Running website
Contact Details
: info@hermesrunning.com
: 07984540177